Top Ten Race Tightens in Bass Pro Shops School of the Year presented by Abu Garcia

Bethel University retains the lead in the chase for Bass Pro Shops School of the Year presented by Abu Garcia.  After another week of events, there is minimal change among the top 10 in the standings.  Grand Valley State University is the sole team to make a move inside the top 10 as they leap frog past champions in the University of North Alabama to slide into eighth overall.   New to the top 25 this week are Clemson University, Kennesaw State University, and the University of Wisconsin – Platteville.

Included in this most recent update are the results from a Bassmaster College Series event hosted on Lewis Smith Lake in Alabama over the weekend.  Eight teams in the top 10 at that event represent schools that are currently in the top 10 in the School of the Year standings.  Lucas Murphy and Mitchell Gunn from Grand Valley State University claimed first place with a three-day total weight of 52 lbs. 7 oz.  The University of Montevallo, McKendree University, Bethel University, and Bryan College also placed at least one team in the top 10.

Prior to the B.A.S.S. event, the University of North Alabama hosted a school run event also on Lewis Smith Lake.  The event fielded 17 boats, which earned UNA a 30-point bonus for hosting.  Nathan Doss and Trey Reiser of UNA won with 15.79 lbs.  That victory earned their team a total of 100 points towards the Bass Pro Shops School of the Year presented by Abu Garcia.

“We enjoy hosting SOY sanctioned events. We usually, as most other schools do too, try to choose what we consider to be our home lakes. This not only gives us an opportunity at more points being a sanctioned event, but being so close to home we usually feel we have a chance to do well in the tournament and compete for the win,” said Justin Lane, UNA Bass Fishing Club President.

At this point in the season, this is shaping up to be one of the most hotly contested races in recent history.  The current top 10 is comprised of three past School of the Year winners. Mixed in with them are numerous other schools who are all ready to claim the title for themselves.

Here’s a look at the Top 25:

  1. Bethel University (McKenzie, TN)
  2. McKendree University (Lebanon, IL)
  3. Adrian College (Adrian, MI)
  4. Murray State University (Murray, KY)
  5. Blue Mountain College (Blue Mountain, MS)
  6. Bryan College (Dayton, TN)
  7. University of Montevallo (Montevallo, AL)
  8. Grand Valley State University (Allendale, MI)
  9. University of North Alabama (Florence, AL)
  10. Oklahoma State University (Stillwater, OK)
  11. Auburn University (Auburn, AL)
  12. West Virginia University (Morgantown, WV)
  13. University of Louisiana – Monroe (Monroe, LA)
  14. Bemidji State University (Bemidji, MN)
  15. Arkansas Tech University (Russellville, AR)
  16. Campbellsville University (Campbellsville, KY)
  17. University of Alabama (Tuscaloosa, AL)
  18. University of Tennessee (Knoxville, TN)
  19. Sam Houston State (Huntsville, TX)
  20. Snead State Community College (Boaz, AL)
  21. University of Wisconsin-Platteville (Platteville, WI)
  22. Northwestern State University (Natchitoches, LA)
  23. East Texas Baptist University (Marshall, TX)
  24. Kennesaw State University (Kennesaw, GA)
  25. Clemson University (Clemson, SC)

Click here for the full standings.

The only major college event this weekend will be hosted by the Murray State Bass Anglers on Kentucky Lake.  This is an ACA sanctioned school run event, and will count towards the School of the Year race. For more information on that event, please visit the School-Run Events here.  Upon receiving those results, the Bass Pro Shops School of the Year presented by Abu Garcia standings will be updated early next week.

For more information about the Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, please visit

Stay up to date and Follow Us!

Facebook –

Instagram –

Twitter –

Subscribe to our videos!

YouTube –

Listen to our #WeAreCollegiateBass Podcast!


About the Association of Collegiate Anglers

The Association of Collegiate Anglers (ACA), a division of CarecoTV, is a tournament organization created to facilitate growth, development, and structure within competitive collegiate bass fishing.  The ACA created the original BoatUS Collegiate Bass Fishing Series,14 seasons ago, which is now the Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, and the longest running collegiate bass fishing series in existence.  The ACA provides support to dozens of school operating regional events nationwide, and owns the Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, Bass Pro Shops School of Year Program, and associated assets.   The ACA also provides the largest amount of televised coverage of any collegiate fishing series with dedicated programming on several television networks ranging from Discovery Channel, CBS Sports, NBC Sports, Pursuit Channel, World Fishing Network, as well as other regional and national networks.  For more information on the ACA or the Bass Pro Shops Collegiate Bass Fishing Series, visit For more information on Bass Pro Shops, visit  For more information on CarecoTV, visit